Brettenham and Kilverstone Parish Council represents the villages of Brettenham, Kilverstone and Rushford, the residents at Arlington Way and surrounding communities. It is a largely rural area bordering Thetford to the west and the County of Suffolk to the south. It lies in the constituency of South West Norfolk, Guiltcross Division of Norfolk County Council and is part of the Forest Ward of Breckland District Council.

Norfolk County Council Boundary Review

This review is intended to ensure the numbers of electors in each Norfolk County Council Division are broadly equal.  The LGBC proposals make no change to the number of County Councillors, which remains at 84.  However, it is also proposed to change the current boundary of our present Division of Guiltcross, to exclude the 3 parish councils of Brettenham and Kilverstone, Roudham & Larling and Bridgham, which would be included in Thetford East.  This would then lead to 3 rural parish councils being represented in an urban division to the detriment of these 3 rural parish councils as there influence would be dramatically diminished.  The Parish Council is opposing this proposal on these grounds, noting that the electoral numbers do not require this change.  The consultation ends on 23 Nov 20 and your Parish Council very much hopes you will join them in objecting to the LGBC proposals at:

 https://consultation.lgbce.org.uk/have-your-say/18494?bbox=536554.5,273438,663002.5,352062  or by email to: [email protected] 


2019 Election Results

Local government councillors:

 Norfolk County Council, Guiltcross Division:      Stephen Askew

Breckland District Council, Forest Ward: Sam Chapman-Allen and
Robert Kybird

 Brettenham and Kilverstone Parish Council:

Bob Bick
David Dawson
Martin Engwell
Sarah Exton
Caroline Hughes
John Skirving
Peter Wright

Joint Neighbourhood Plan Latest

Referendum for the Croxton, Brettenham & Kilverstone Neighbourhood Plan

A Referendum relating to the making (adoption) of the Croxton Brettenham and Kilverstone Joint Neighbourhood Plan was held on Thursday 10th January 2019.

The votes resulted in the Plan being made by Breckland Council. To see the JNP please follow link:


Thetford Governance Review

Proposed boundary changes for Thetford Carbrooke and Great Ellingham

At the most recent meeting, 19 October 2018, it was decided to increase the number of  councillors for Thetford by two to represent the new Parish Ward, which will be named Iceni. Furthermore, it was decided that the parish boundary for Thetford be extended to include all the land to the south of the A11 and west of the A1075 currently in the parish of Croxton, with the boundary between Croxton and Kilverstone remaining unchanged


 Parish Council Mascots

Exmoor ponies from Knettishall Heath, Brettenham” (on the left) and “Kilverstone” (on the right), adopted by the Parish Council.

Forest Ward 2015

Following the Electoral Review of Breckland District Council, Brettenham and Kilverstone Parish Council will be a part of  the Forest Ward, which will have 2 District Councillors.

The map below shows the new ward with its constituent parishes.  It also shows the area for the Neighbourhood Plan being developed jointly with Croxton Parish Council.  The map also shows the Sustainable Urban Extension (SUE) on which it is planned to build 5,000 new homes.

Cookies For Comments Image